Village Books

+44 20 8693 2808

Opening Hours:
Monday - Saturday
9.00am - 5.30pm
Sunday 11.00am - 5.00pm

Books for Children

Books for Children

From new-born babies upwards, we’re really good at finding the right book for every child. Whether it’s a picture book, an early reader or a gripping adventure, we’ve got a great selection for your children to explore. If you need help, we love to recommend and we relish the challenge of engaging reluctant readers. We also carry Bond Assessment Papers, 11+ Practice Tests and lots of non-fiction to support your child’s curriculum.

Arena 13: The Prey

Arena 13: The Prey

Paperback £6.99

Arena 13 was a very thrilling experience for me, as when I started reading it I could never put it down. The way the author told the story was amazing. It flowed extraordinarily well and Leif who is the main character in the book, is very skilled in the arena with a sword and his feelings are transmitted exceptionally well. I love how this is set in a dystopian future where people have been overthrown by a race called the djinn, and we can breed something called lacs for combat in the arenas. A woman called Ada has pattern sentience into one Lac and this is a real eye-opener, it’s amazing and I hope Joseph Delaney is on the verge of publishing a book just as good.
If you want to start with the arena 13 series I recommend you begin at the very start of the series when we are first introduced to the main characters. You find out who is the father of Leif is in a mysterious way. We also learn that he is half genthai who have a wolf god called Thangar. The idea behind it simply amazing as is the storyline, it’s so well that you can’t put it down.
Guillermo Sainz
Age 11, year 7
Bee

Bee

Turn the pages to follow the miraculous little bee and its journey from flower to flower in this delightful peep-through picture book. With beautiful illustrations from the award-winning, Britta Teckentrup, Bee celebrates the miracle of pollination as explored in Key Stage Two National Curriculum in schools. Ages: 3-5yrs

Are You Sitting Comfortably?

Are You Sitting Comfortably?

Paperback £6.99

Hello there! Are you sitting comfortably? Are you sure? Have you found the perfect snuggle-up-and-lose-yourself-in-a-book place? Somewhere comfy, NOT itchy-fuzzy? Somewhere quiet, NOT buzz-buzzy? You have? Great! Unfortunately the little chap in this book isn’t having quite as much luck as you are …Join one small book lover’s search for the perfect place to sit (just for a bit!) in this beautifully illustrated and designed picture book by the talented Leigh Hodgkinson.

This Book is out of Control

This Book is out of Control

Paperback £6.99

Ben and Bella are playing with Ben’s remote controlled fire engine. So why doesn’t it turn or spin or sound its siren when Ben presses the buttons? And why are strange things happening to Bella’s dog? This is a book that’s out of control and only the reader can help get things back to normal.

Goldfish Boy

Goldfish Boy

Paperback £6.99

Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD and spends most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their lives. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour’s toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy’s disappearance. A captivating story of fear, hope, loneliness and friendship, for fans of The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time

Animals Behaving Badly

Animals Behaving Badly

Paperback £5.99

Meet five animals on their beastliest behaviour in this funny and absorbing narrative non-fiction title from award-winning author Nicola Davies. Animals Behaving Badly is a collection of funny and absorbing true stories about animals who have behaved badly, from the mischievous macaque monkeys in India to the clever kea birds in New Zealand. Ages: 7+

Just Call Me Spaghetti Hoop Boy

Just Call Me Spaghetti Hoop Boy

Paperback £6.99

My name is Adam Butters. I live on planet Earth, I like eating spaghetti hoops and I’m going to be a SUPERHERO. Superheroes solve problems and make people happy, and that’s good because my mum needs cheering up. Also, I’ve found out that before I was adopted my real mum called me ACE. So now I’ve got to prove to the world that’s what I am…

It’s not a secret that 11 year old Adam Butters is adopted, but what he didn’t know was that his mother originally called him Ace. A heartwarming and funny story about his quest to find his birth-mother and show her that he really is ace. From the author of A Boy Called Hope

Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective

Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective

Paperback £5.99

A hilarious Sherlock Holmes reboot set in modern-day New York. For fans of Robin Stevens and Frank Cottrell Boyce. Ages: 9+

Shelby Holmes is not your average nine-year-old. For one, she happens to be the best detective her neighbourhood has ever seen, using her uncanny analytical mind and sassy attitude to solve crimes which stump even the police department.

But when eleven-year-old John Watson moves in to her block of flats, Shelby finds a solution to the one puzzle that’s eluded her up until now: friendship. This dynamic duo find themselves swept up in a dog-napping case that’ll take both their talents to crack.

Theres Broccoli In My Ice Cream

Theres Broccoli In My Ice Cream

Paperback £6.99

Granville the Dalmatian will NOT eat fruit and vegetables… until his grandpa comes up with a cunning plan! A funny story about fussy eating from the creator of Wanted!, Ralfy Rabbit and Book Burglar. Ages: 0+.

Amazing Animal Babies

Amazing Animal Babies

Paperback £6.99

Every day, billions of animals are just starting out their lives. In this picture book, you can travel around the globe and meet some incredible baby animals as they begin their journey through life. It features baby animals ranging from Darwin’s froglets and baby earthworms to tiger cubs and meerkat pups.

With beautiful artwork by award-winning illustrator, Jason Cockcroft, meet some baby animals as they begin their exciting journey through life. Ages: 3+

What our customers say

They know about books and can discuss them, and when you order them they arrive quicker than you can say Amazon.

A great little bookshop. The staff are excellent with a wide range of knowledge. Every corner of its floors are crammed full of reading treasures. Often they order in my special requests with no trouble but great speed.


close

Join our mailing list