Royal Society of Literature Encore Award – 2017 shortlist announced

30th March 2017

The £10,000 Encore Award for the best second novel of the year was first awarded in 1990 and is sponsored by Lucy Astor. The award fills a niche in the catalogue of literary prizes by celebrating the achievement of outstanding second novels. The RSL has administrated of the award since 2016.

Literary lore as well as practice tells us that second novels are ever the most daunting. They even have a syndrome named after them. That’s why I’ve always been particularly fond of the Encore Award, the brilliant prize that acknowledges the difficulties of the second novel.  I’m thrilled that the RSL will now be a partner in its running. Lisa Appignanesi, RSL Chair.

I am delighted by this affiliation between the Encore Award and the RSL. It will undoubtedly raise the profile of the prize but, more importantly, of its winners. Lucy Astor, founder and sponsor of the Encore Award.

The 2017 Awards

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the RSL Encore Award 2017:

Jenni Fagan The Sunlight Pilgrims (William Heinemann)

Paul Kingsnorth Beast (Faber & Faber)

Ian McGuire The North Water (Scribner)

Eimear McBride The Lesser Bohemians (Faber & Faber)

Sarah Perry The Essex Serpent (Serpent’s Tail)

Sara Taylor The Lauras (William Heinemann)

The 2017 judges are Alex Clark, Julia Copus and Ted Hodgkinson.

The winner will be announced on 5 April 2017.